zInspector 3 Media Gallery
In zInspector 3, it is easy to access recently taken photos to edit, markup, and permanently delete them while still on site.
Viewing the In-App Media Gallery
In zInspector 3, the Gallery icon can be easily accessed in several locations:
- from the main app screen:
- in the Quick Pictures interface:
- and from the Inspect mode menu bar:
Working with Photos in the Gallery
While stored locally on the device / available in the Gallery, photos can be edited, marked up, shared, or even deleted.
For any photo, the following tools are available:
Videos & the Gallery
Like photos, videos recently taken in zInspector 3 are temporarily available in the Gallery. The above functionality applies to them with two exceptions: 1) videos are not zoomable in the View tool and 2) videos cannot be marked up, so no Markup icon is available for them in the Gallery.
Photo Gallery Setting
Once a photo taken in zInspector 3 has uploaded to the server and cleared the Queue, it will remain locally stored on your device for the number of days specified in your Settings menu under Misc Settings > Days to keep photos on device:
The setting can be adjusted to remove photos from the device immediately after they upload (0 days), or to keep them on device for 1, 3, 7, or 30 days. Choose the setting that works best for your process and available device storage. By default, photos are kept on the device for 7 days once safely uploaded to the website.
What to Do Once Photos Leave the Gallery
- Once a photo is no longer in the Gallery (stored locally), the Edit and Markup tools are no longer available for it there.
- Any uploaded photo can always be accessed in the app’s Timeline on the device or even called up for reference during a subsequent inspection of a property (hold down on the camera icon for an area or detail to see available previous photos), but only the View and Share tools will be available in those cases.
- The Markup tool is only available for a photo as long as it is stored locally on the device—so be sure to mark up photos as needed soon after taking them. The Markup tool is not available on the website.
- The Edit tool functionality can be accessed for a given photo on the website once it is no longer available within the app.
Working with Photos on the Website
Photos that have uploaded to the website will update to reflect any changes performed on the app (including tag edits, markup, and deletion). To edit photos that have uploaded to the website (including those no longer available to edit in the app’s Gallery), there are two approaches:
Edit Photos from the Report Preview
From the website Timeline, click on an activity containing the photo(s) you want to edit:
In the Edit popup for a report photo, you can rotate the photo, change any photo tags, add or edit photo comments, or even make the current photo the default photo for the property. (By default, the first photo taken of a property for Front Yard/Exterior, if available, becomes the default property photo. The default property photo displays on the main screen of the app when the property is selected ).
Edit Photos from the Property Gallery
In your Property list, click on any property name to view the Property Gallery:
Each Property Gallery displays the photos (and videos) for the selected property, ordered by date and grouped by activity. Click on a photo or the corresponding Activity name header to bring up the Activity Gallery:
To the left of any photo, click Edit Tags or Delete as needed.