In the zInspector 3 mobile app, you can view and work with previously submitted photos from any user on the account via Timeline/History (or depending on user groups and individual user permissions). Additionally, you can view and work with photos you took recently on within your app via the Gallery button.
zInspector 3 Timeline/History
In zInspector 3, you can easily access previously submitted photos across your account and even mark them up!
From the app’s main screen, with no Property/Unit selected, tap Timeline/History.
Locate and tap on the activity of interest to open it. Tap on a photo to view it. Here the following tools are available:
Note: By default, the first photo taken of a property for Front Yard/Exterior, if available, becomes the default property photo. The default Property Photo displays on the main screen of the app when the property is selected.
zInspector 3 Media Gallery
In zInspector 3, you can easily access recently taken photos to edit, markup, and permanently delete them while still on site.
Viewing the In-App Media Gallery
In zInspector 3, the Gallery icon can be easily accessed from the main menu bar across most pages.
Additionally, in the Quick Pictures camera interface, it can be accessed from the bottom bar.
Working with Photos in the App
In the Gallery
While stored locally on the device and available in the Gallery, photos can be edited, marked up, shared, or even deleted.
For any photo, the following tools are available:
Videos & the Gallery
Like photos, videos recently taken in zInspector 3 are temporarily available in the Gallery. The above functionality applies to them with two exceptions: 1) videos are not zoomable in the View tool and 2) videos cannot be marked up, so no Markup icon is available for them in the Gallery.
Photo Gallery Setting
Once a photo taken in zInspector 3 has uploaded to the server and cleared the Queue, it will remain locally stored on your device for the number of days specified in your Settings menu under Misc Settings > Days to keep photos on device:
The setting can be adjusted to remove photos from the device immediately after they upload (0 days), or to keep them on device for 1, 3, 7, or 30 days. Choose the setting that works best for your process and available device storage. By default, photos are kept on the device for 7 days once safely uploaded to the website.
What to Do Once Photos Leave the Gallery
- Once a photo is no longer in the Gallery (stored locally), the Edit and Markup tools are no longer available for it there.
- Any uploaded photo can always be accessed in the app’s Timeline on the device or even called up for reference during a subsequent inspection of a property (hold down on the camera icon for an area or detail to see available previous photos), but only the View and Share tools will be available in those cases.
- The Markup tool is only available for a photo as long as it is stored locally on the device—so be sure to mark up photos as needed soon after taking them. The Markup tool is not available on the website.
- The Edit tool functionality can be accessed for a given photo on the website once it is no longer available within the app.
This article explains how to work with photos on the website.